Author Topic: Hi Everyone  (Read 3786 times)

Offline velvet jones

• Forager
    • View Profile
Hi Everyone
« on: March 11, 2009, 05:51:51 pm »
Hi everyone. I'm very new to the paleo lifestyle my second to last step in a long trial and error process that included veganism all the way back to being totally carnivorous. so its been two months straight now and my energy levels have increased dramatically , my boxing is more focused and intense and my old weightlifting injuries no longer bother me. currently i take enzymes to help with digestion and whenever i eat a meat dish i eat it with raw fermented sauerkraut. Since i started paleo Ive wanted to try eating my meats raw, but i am deathly afraid of being a victim of salmonella or ecoli poisoning or worse yet some terrible worm or parasite. any advice?

Offline TylerDurden

• Global Moderator
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
    • Raw Paleolithic Diet
Re: Hi Everyone
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2009, 07:26:08 pm »
Welcome to the forum!

It seems you've made much the same journey as most of us, here. We all go through an initial phase where we're deathly afraid of parasites and bacteria, but most of us come to realise, over time, that they're needless worries. That said, as a reassurance, I would suggest that you go in for raw anti-parasitical herbs such as raw garlic,cloves, cayenne pepper, wormwood, goldenseal, thyme etc. etc. Get them raw and unprocessed for best effects, and eat them along with any raw animal foods(don't overdo the raw spices if you have wrecked digestive system).
Info on the benefits of bacteria and even parasites is here:-

http://www.rawpaleoforum.com/important-info-for-newbies/the-benefits-of-bacteria/

You might also find these 2 sticky topics useful:-

http://www.rawpaleoforum.com/important-info-for-newbies/sticky-advice-for-newbies-wishing-to-slowly-ease-into-a-raw-animal-food-diet/