Author Topic: How to eat Bone Marrow  (Read 10646 times)

Offline Chopstick33

• Scavenger
    • View Profile
How to eat Bone Marrow
« on: February 16, 2012, 10:48:48 am »
I heard that there is a lot of benefit eating raw bone marrow. Is it safe to eat it raw or should i freeze it first? Please help me out. I am a newbie on raw diet.

Thanks
Jimmy

Offline eveheart

• Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
Re: How to eat Bone Marrow
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2012, 11:14:42 am »
I eat raw marrow from the femur bone of grass-fed beef or lamb. I do not get it frozen, but sometimes fresh/frozen depends on your source. I wouldn't turn down frozen marrow if it was the only form available.

It is easiest to eat beef marrow if your butcher will slice the shank of the femur lengthwise. Lamb marrow can be poked out of the femur with a chopstick if the knuckle ends are sliced off.
"I intend to live forever; so far, so good." -Steven Wright, comedian

Offline Chopstick33

• Scavenger
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2012, 11:32:41 am »
Thanks for the advice! How much marrow should I consume per day?  I will definitly try out some lamb marrow.

Thanks
« Last Edit: February 16, 2012, 04:26:11 pm by TylerDurden »

Offline cherimoya_kid

• One who bans trolls
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2012, 12:39:00 pm »
Thanks for the advise! How much marrow should I consume per day? 

As much as tastes good to you.

Offline Iguana

• Mammoth Hunter
  • Eating tuna fish
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2012, 10:30:32 pm »
Yes.

I saw or/and break the bones and then dig inside with the handle of a spoon. It' difficult for me to find enough of it unless I get the bones of a mammoth...  ;)