Author Topic: Just want to say Hi.  (Read 3898 times)

Offline Lucidknight

• Forager
    • View Profile
Just want to say Hi.
« on: August 20, 2008, 02:24:53 am »
Well, i am new to t raw/paleo dieting, and i am still unsure as to what sort of diet i want to partake in. I am heavily leaning towards a mostly vegan(with some raw fish perhaps)

Really i just want to be healthier, i feel really tired all of the time. I also want to lose a bit of weight maybe 10-15 lbs. I am normal weight now but losing a few lbs. could not hurt.
"All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed , second it is violently opposed, and third it is accepted as self-evident." Arthur Schopenhauer

Offline TylerDurden

• Global Moderator
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
    • Raw Paleolithic Diet
Re: Just want to say Hi.
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2008, 02:34:40 am »
Welcome to the forum! It's a good idea to read the "sticky" topics on each subforum, there's also recipes in the recipes section etc.

IMO, it's not usually recomended to just opt for raw vegan and raw fish - this would be a sort of Instincto-like diet, and I can tell you that they notoriously overindulge on raw, sweet fruits(which can cause dental erosion etc.). You'd also be missing out on raw fats, which are necessary. Mind you, a lot of people start off with Raw Vegan/Fruitarian diets and then turn to RAF/RVAF diets sooner or later when the former plant-based diets turn up nutritional deficiencies - I was no exception.

As regards the fatigue, I also had chronic fatigue. In my own case, getting rid of raw dairy(to which I was allergic) and including raw organ-meats helped a great deal. Given that a lot of chronic fatigue cases are gland-related in origin,  raw glands like thyroid/adrenals might be an option, preferably bought from grassfed farms.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 05:26:23 pm by TylerDurden »