Author Topic: the best option at buffet places?  (Read 6176 times)

Offline Joy2012

• Shaman
    • View Profile
the best option at buffet places?
« on: February 06, 2012, 05:09:42 pm »
I am a newbie. I am experimenting with doing VLC and mostly raw animal foods.  (My diet for the past month includes beef, salmon, a little animal organs, cheese, coconut oil, macadamia nuts, walnuts, a tiny bit fruit/vege juice.  Except for coconut oil, everything is raw.)   I do not think I have entered ketosis after several weeks. Maybe I eat too much protein/carb.  But I feel dehydrated and sometimes I have a mild headache at the front part of my head. So I guess I am not far from entering ketosis.

I have socials a couple times a month, usually at Asian buffet places. I am trying to figure out what would be my best choice of foods at this stage of my diet:

(1) I could eat only fresh low-GI fruits;
(2) I could eat only  fresh vegetable salads with my home-made sauce;
(3) I could select  raw meats/seafoods from the Mongolian BBQ counter and ask the chef to cook them with water (not with cheap vegetable oil)--then season with my home-made sauce.

I cannot decide which option is least harmful to my health/experiment. I will appreciate input.  (No I will not eat raw meats, which I bet are of low quality and could cause serious stomach upset, not to mention causing disturbance among my friends.)

« Last Edit: February 06, 2012, 05:29:05 pm by TylerDurden »

Offline cherimoya_kid

• One who bans trolls
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
Re: the best option at buffet places?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 04:03:11 am »
I usually just get the raw meat from the barbecue counter and take it away before they can ask me if I want them to cook it.  I also do eat steamed clams at these places.  It's not ideal, but at least they are not baked/fried/boiled.

I've had no problems with the raw meats at these places. 

Considering your diabetes, I'd avoid the fruit and eat the salads.