Author Topic: Withdrawal maybe? Need a little help  (Read 5324 times)

Offline ambers

• Forager
    • View Profile
Withdrawal maybe? Need a little help
« on: December 04, 2010, 09:03:30 pm »
Hi all, I'm really new to this and I need a little help..

I'm 23, I started having eczema at age 18 and there was a point where it was exceptionally bad (it was literally all over, no skin spared). I was in constant pain and it itched like crazy and no amount of cortisteroids/oral steroids made it better. Eventually I was given seroquel (an antidepressant) to help with my insomnia. That seemed to work until half a year into it where my eczema broke out full force, in fact worse than before, and my scalp kept oozing some weird yellow liquid. That's when I decided to stop the medication cold turkey.

I had to take the term off (school) because I felt so sick, and that's when I started to read about all these diets. I tried water fasting, juice fasting, etc, eventually, my condition improved a little and I was eczema free except for my scalp and face. It has been very dry and would ooze the weird yellow liquid when I scratched it. I've tried various things, a fruitarian diet, raw vegan, recently raw paleo (this seemed to worsen it though). I don't know what I'm missing, and I have no idea whether its a detox effect from previous medication. I've tried to find forums about seroquel withdrawal to check the effects but I don't seem to find many, although people did complain of having an itchy scalp.

Any suggestions on what I should do? Thanks!

(here's the wiki article on seroquel: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quetiapine )

Offline Josh

• Chief
    • View Profile
Re: Withdrawal maybe? Need a little help
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2010, 10:20:16 pm »
Well this is a raw paleo diet forum, so most people will suggest try a raw paleo diet!

If you get on a fairly high fat diet and remove antinutrients and toxins from what you eat, it could well help your skin.

Offline ambers