Author Topic: Best livestock for a small pasture  (Read 7578 times)

Offline MrDavis

• Forager
    • View Profile
Best livestock for a small pasture
« on: February 19, 2011, 05:36:11 pm »
Hi this is my first time posting, ...anyway i was thinking about buying a couple acres of land (maybe 10?) and i'm wondering what would be the most efficient livestock to have. I would only sell extra, otherwise it would just be for me. I was thinking maybe some deer but it appears that wild game has significantly more protein than fat(is this true?). So maybe potbellied pigs? It also needs to be something that will multiply reasonably quick. Anyway i really need some help on this haha
« Last Edit: February 19, 2011, 06:26:11 pm by TylerDurden »

Offline TylerDurden

• Global Moderator
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
    • Raw Paleolithic Diet
Re: Best livestock for a small pasture
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2011, 06:27:36 pm »
Deer would be best. The less inbred a species is, the tastier its meat will be. Pigs, though, do seem to produce large litters.
"During the last campaign I knew what was happening. You know, they mocked me for my foreign policy and they laughed at my monetary policy. No more. No more.
" Ron Paul.

Offline donrad

• Bear Hunter
  • Raw Omnivore
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2011, 11:19:17 pm »
I suggest meat breeds of sheep and goats. Goats are browsers so are good for clearing brush. Hogs will root up and eat everything that is or has been alive so they are good for clearing land. Also a chicken tractor is a recent invention good for both meat and eggs. Geese will survive on pasture only. Khacki Campbell ducks lay more eggs than chickens.

Your investment in fence types and water supply will determin what type of animals you can keep. Preditors in the air and on land are always a battle.
Naturally, Don

Offline miles

• Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2011, 11:37:24 pm »