Author Topic: Pork  (Read 5740 times)

Offline extralizard13

• Trapper
    • View Profile
Pork
« on: January 14, 2010, 09:49:09 am »
I'm new to all of this and was wondering how do you prevent contracting tapeworms from pork or any bacterial diseases in meats?

Offline djr_81

• Hakuna Matata
  • Global Moderator
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
    • Facebook
Re: Pork
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2010, 09:56:38 am »
I don't worry about bacterial diseases in meat. If I'm eating raw my body's immune system has less regular stress on it and therefore handles things better. Any colds, flus, and possible harmful bacteria I encounter doesn't seem to do anything.

I've debated trying raw pork myself (actually have a little pastured pork in the freezer we bought for my wife to cook) but it seems everyone adds at least a bit of corn to the feed mix of their pigs and that's just going to set my food allergies off. Then there is the fact they'll eat anything, even shit, that gives me pause. Lastly, they're know for parasites. I've come to the conclusion over time that it's just not worth the worries when other meats do so well for me.
https://www.facebook.com/djr1981
As you simplify your life, the laws of the universe will be simpler; solitude will not be solitude, poverty will not be poverty, nor weakness weakness.
-Henry David Thoreau

Offline extralizard13

• Trapper
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2010, 10:04:06 am »
I don't worry about bacterial diseases in meat. If I'm eating raw my body's immune system has less regular stress on it and therefore handles things better. Any colds, flus, and possible harmful bacteria I encounter doesn't seem to do anything.