Author Topic: Fingernails  (Read 5937 times)

Offline raw-al

• Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
Fingernails
« on: April 13, 2011, 07:47:46 am »
I play fingerstyle guitar and I do not do well with picks of any kind.

When I was a cooked vege consumer, I tried growing my fingernails so I could pick with them. My thumb was great but my other fingers were too wimpy and would constantly break.

I even tried having replacement ones glued on which worked, but in order to have ones that lasted and did not fall off, one girl I got to put them on just about removed the whole GD original fingernail. That hurt big time and eventually I gave up on that. It worked amazingly well but it was a pain to have it done. Not to mention the looks from patrons when sitting in line to "git me nails done".  ;D LOL

Don'y laugh lots of big time musicians get their "nails done".

Anyways I started playing a lot again lately and tried growing my nails. They are tough as..... (are you ready) nails.. now. They are very strong and I end up having to file them down as they don't break or crack.

One small step for my index, middle and ring finger, one large step for musiciankind thanks to my raw diet.
Cheers
Al

Offline magnetic

• Chief
    • View Profile
Re: Fingernails
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2011, 08:06:55 am »
Very cool, I have an acoustic but don't know how to play.   :(

Offline HIT_it_RAW

• Chief
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2011, 04:00:28 pm »
couldn't imagine breaking my fingernails on guitarstrings. Mine are pretty much indestructible, always have been even on sad. Use them very heavy for all kind of things like tightening screws. I've been a heavy dairy concuumer all my life so that might help, also the dutch tap water has a lot of calcium in it. I drink tap water freely because in my country they don't put chlorine or anything else in the water.
“A man should be able to build a house, butcher a hog, tan the hide,