Author Topic: What's Wrong With The Primal Diet and Paleo Diet  (Read 8235 times)

Offline John Worfin

• Forager
    • View Profile
What's Wrong With The Primal Diet and Paleo Diet
« on: October 13, 2012, 06:49:36 am »
I am wondering if anyone has read this article on the primal diet on the"raw food health dot net" website. They promote raw food but pretty well trash the primal diet. There are many references to studies and the health of tribes. Overall it seems well documented but has a definite flavor of mainstream medical diets.

"The primal diet and paleo diet have several flaws, the most prominent being its low intake of carbohydrates from nutrient-rich fruits and vegetables, high intake of animal foods, and, consequently, high fat intake."

I am new to the paleo diet and feel somewhat vulnerable in my convictions not having much direct experience with it. Thus I am curious what people on this forum would think about the arguments presented in the article.

The link is "http://www.raw-food-health.net/Primal-Diet.html" but I don't know if this forum allows posting links. If it doesn't show up just search for raw food health primal diet. It was the second hit on my search.

Jeff

Offline eveheart

• Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
Re: What's Wrong With The Primal Diet and Paleo Diet
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2012, 07:33:02 am »
"The primal diet and paleo diet have several flaws, the most prominent being its low intake of carbohydrates from nutrient-rich fruits and vegetables, high intake of animal foods, and, consequently, high fat intake."

I eat raw paleo with very low carbs. The science of low-carb, moderate protein, high-fat diets is adequately documented for certain ailments, which is why I follow it. My results are astoundingly good. It is not wise to generalize by type of diet without taking into consideration the person.