Author Topic: Got Very Sick Off Eating Raw Chicken  (Read 5619 times)

Offline Zack

• Forager
    • View Profile
Got Very Sick Off Eating Raw Chicken
« on: September 24, 2013, 10:11:44 am »
Hello, I am new to eating raw meats. I need to know if there are certain repercussions you should take when you first start eating raw meats; and if there are any 'rules' to eating raw meat/fish. All the meat I buy is local and grass-fed. I started eating raw beef liver and ground beef with no problems and I like how light it feels going through the digestive system. So I progressed to trying chicken hearts which didn't go too well. The next day after eating the raw chicken hearts I had a fever, migraine, coughed up blood and mucous. I had thought I just caught a flu or something so I had more chicken hearts after I was just getting over this and I instantly knew this was the initial perpetrator. Got same symptoms again but worse and was bedridden for about a day and a half. It was an absolutely miserable experience.

So does anyone know why this happened? And is there anything I should know before I proceed further into this diet?

Offline cherimoya_kid

• One who bans trolls
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
Re: Got Very Sick Off Eating Raw Chicken
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2013, 10:15:21 am »
I've eaten raw chicken livers a number of times, but I don't recommend eating raw chicken generally, unless you can personally verify the chickens' diet.  Nearly all chicken that you can buy at a store is fed an unacceptable diet, and is quite often contaminated with some nasty bacteria.

Offline Zack

• Forager
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2013, 10:51:26 am »
The chicken hearts were purchased from a small, local farm. I've met the husband and wife who own the farm as well. I wouldn't question that they aren't grass fed organic as per the label. Maybe they weren't handled properly?

Offline cherimoya_kid

• One who bans trolls
  • Mammoth Hunter