Author Topic: Getting a butchered lamb! What to do?!  (Read 2510 times)

Offline Taz

• Egg Thief
    • View Profile
Getting a butchered lamb! What to do?!
« on: September 24, 2014, 09:39:49 pm »
Well i ordered a butchered lamb and i will get heart, liver, kidneys and fat. It will arrive soon. I've never tried this raw meat thing before more than eating some steak tartar and eating some raw beef. I dont really know what to do with all the meat and intestines? Hang/store it in some way in the fridge i guess but how long will it be good for? I dont have a very big fridge and i've heard freezing makes it taste worse. And i guess i will have my troubles with the taste in the beginning, so making it worse wont be good. Weird thing i once ate a raw lamb chop, wasn't bad but can't say it tasted great. Then i tried cooking it quickly on the outside, wich made it turn blue on the inside. I thought it would be more juicy like a stake but it made it taste worse and i couldn't finish it.

So and tips on how to store it and how long it will be good for?
« Last Edit: September 24, 2014, 09:45:21 pm by Taz »

Offline eveheart

• Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
Re: Getting a butchered lamb! What to do?!
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 12:13:31 am »
I've been buying whole lamb lately. I get it quartered (4 pieces) plus a bag of the stomach intestines and a bag of all the other offal (lungs, heart, etc). I cut each quarter in half so each piece will fit hanging in my fridge - so basically, cut it to fit. I use S-hooks from the hardware store for hanging. The lamb is good for as long as the lamb lasts - about a month - six weeks at my house. I eat the offal the first week, keeping the pieces on a plate, exposed to air, in the fridge. I use a good knife and a hacksaw to cut the lamb. Find a good Youtube video if you need cutting help to identify the pieces, but it's pretty obvious.