Author Topic: Can flaxseed be harmful?  (Read 13780 times)

Offline Natasha88

• Forager
    • View Profile
Can flaxseed be harmful?
« on: January 03, 2013, 05:31:02 am »
For the past 2-3 months I have been taking 1-2 tbsps of flaxseed daily (usually just one) so that I can get more omega 3's. I understand, however, that our bodies can't convert all the omegas from flax so I do take fish oil as well and incorporate a lot of fish in my diet. I've been eating mostly paleo for about 3 months now and I have noticed some positive changes but it's been hard as paleo has been the cause of some problems as well, namely my weight loss. I'm 5'6 and before I started I weighted 106 pounds, already underweight, but I have gone down to 98 pounds, emaciated. This change was gradual and because I had no scale, I didn't notice how much weight I lost until two weeks ago. Recently I have started incorporating more carbs and have been able to gain 2 pounds in the past two weeks. My biggest problem has been the loss of my period for 2 months now. I know that this can be(and probably is) attributed to my low weight and bodyfat percentage but I was wondering if the flax could also be a cause. I don't remember if I stopped before or after starting to take flax and I know that flax is a phytoestrogen so it can mess with hormones. I've heard of flax messing with other people's cycles but I was wondering if it can entirely stop reproductive function. It's not menopause since I'm only 18 so I was wondering if anyone had any more information on the detrimental effects of flax and if it could be harming my body.

Thanks!

Offline ys

• Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
Re: Can flaxseed be harmful?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 05:42:45 am »