Author Topic: Hi  (Read 3407 times)

Offline Dan

• Egg Thief
    • View Profile
Hi
« on: August 02, 2008, 08:27:08 pm »
I'm not really sure where to start with this, but I've been eating a paleo-ish diet for a few months, and when I don't get weak and have a coke, or chips, I feel pretty good.  My health issues (not much really) generally seem better when I'm not eating grain or sugar.  I figured I'd try to see if raw meat worked better (based on what I've read, it makes sense), and I was hoping to get some ideas on here. 
I've been going about this gradually for a few weeks.  How long does it usually take for raw meat to taste good?

Offline TylerDurden

• Global Moderator
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
    • Raw Paleolithic Diet
Re: Hi
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2008, 09:41:26 pm »
It all depends on the individual. In my own case, pre-rawpalaeo diet I used to suffer from extremely painful stomach-aches from eating any cooked animal food, so it was easier for me than others to get used to the diet. I almost instantly got used to eating many types of raw fish/raw shellfish, and found the taste of raw, minced steak rather bland, but not off-putting. Some raw organ-meats took  longer for me to get used to - others use things like blenders/vitamixes early on in the diet in order to get used to the taste, but I never bothered with that as I liked the idea that one could save so much time otherwise spent on cooking or having someone else cook something for you). My solution with raw liver was to bolt down  very small slivers of it, without chewing, followed quickly by a gulp of alkaline mineral-water - after a while, I didn't feel the need, any more. Other raw organ-meats like raw tongue were pretty easy to get used to(though for the first 2 years, I would cut out the darker, stringier parts on the underside of the tongue, as I didn't like it as much as the pinker, lighter-coloured part of the tongue).