Author Topic: my cat has worms?  (Read 5022 times)

Offline Raw Kyle

• Global Moderator
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
my cat has worms?
« on: June 08, 2010, 09:08:33 am »
Back story:I've been feeding my cat raw meat for at least a couple of years now. Occasionally someone helps me take care of him and he might get a can of commercial cat food or some canned fish, but his diet is overwhelmingly raw meat. At least that's what I feed him, but he's an indoor/outdoor cat and might be digging through garbage or people might be feeding him.

A day or two ago I saw two little worms in my carpet, at separate times of the day. I was surprised and just picked them up and threw them out. Then today I'm on the phone laying on my couch telling my girlfriend about it and look down at the carpet: dozens of the worms. They were all over, seemingly coming out of the carpet itself. My first thought was that they were the larval stage of fleas since my house had fleas before. But afaik flea larvae are minuscule and these were about a cm long. Then I thought of my cat. What kept me from being sure it was him is that the worms are in places he can't get to, like under the couch and all against the walls. Some of these places haven't been available for contact since I moved my furniture around months ago. That gives more evidence to the flea egg/larva theory.

Anyway I'm taking him to the vet tomorrow and hopefully grabbing a worm to take with me. This episode brings some doubt into my mind about natural health and all that. Maybe he did get into some garbage, but still having to give an animal medication attacks the foundation of belief in paleolithic health strategies.

Offline Josh

• Chief
    • View Profile
Re: my cat has worms?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2010, 12:02:09 pm »
Woudn't the worms be in the cat scat?