Author Topic: oxalates / oxalic acid  (Read 6819 times)

Offline thuphaer

• Forager
    • View Profile
oxalates / oxalic acid
« on: December 17, 2014, 11:23:12 pm »
Hey,

I'm always interested in reading/learning/experimenting regarding food. I've been eating ancestral for a few years mostly something which looks a bit like primal (as in MarksDailyApple) but I've also done a few whole30's.

I'm currently reading Nourishing Traditions and I have recently started experimenting with fermentation.

Questions to everybody who reads this post:
How big of a percentage of raw food versus cooked food do you eat ? 
Are you concerned about oxalates such as Oxalic acid in (raw) spinach ?

Offline eveheart

• Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
Re: oxalates / oxalic acid
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2014, 12:20:22 am »
Questions to everybody who reads this post:

Welcome to the Raw Paleo Diet Forum.

I eat about 99%+ raw by buying whole foods and then not cooking them. Right now, I have one jar of olives that were processed in heat to seal the jar. All my other food is whole and raw.

Spinach does not figure prominently in my menu. As a recent cultivar, it's not exactly an ancestral food. I can't imagine how paleolithic man could have even cooked spinach-like food considering that they didn't have cooking containers, and direct heat is not useful for leaves. Also, spinach would not be growing at this time of year in my climate, so the point is moot. My favorite green is tangy mustard greens in the spring, and I nibble the leaves if their taste appeals to me.
"I intend to live forever; so far, so good." -Steven Wright, comedian

Offline TylerDurden

• Global Moderator
  • Mammoth Hunter
    • View Profile
    • Raw Paleolithic Diet
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2014, 02:23:52 am »