Author Topic: Which bone marrow to get?  (Read 3950 times)

Offline Adam

• Forager
    • View Profile
Which bone marrow to get?
« on: April 03, 2010, 06:34:41 pm »
Im new to the raw paleo world and have a question on marrow. I have to make a special order to get some marrow but what kind do i get? I heard theres like leg marrow and other types...im really uneducated on this subject. What I really want to know is what bone marrow actually contains the most marrow/least amount of bone. Also i am able to get pork fat relatively cheap. Is pork fat nutritious...is there any reason to buy some?
thank you

Offline Paleo Donk

• Chief
    • View Profile
Re: Which bone marrow to get?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2010, 08:37:28 pm »
I've been eating lots of marrow this past month. Some days I get up to about half my calories from bone marrow alone. The marrow I eat comes from cow leg femurs, with the portion of the marrow being about as wide as my thumb. By weight the marrow is between 10-25% of the total bone depending on how saturated the fat is (I think). The degree of saturation as well as percentage of the marrow that is water changes over the length of the bone. Perhaps the best analysis of wild ruminant bone marrow was done by cordain and is below.

http://www.thepaleodiet.com/articles/Final%20Fatty%20Acid%20PDF.pdf

The fatty acid composition of marrow in wild ruminants
has not been extensively studied; however, data from North
American animals shows that the relative degree of saturation
decreases distally in both the front and rear legs (Meng
et al, 1969; Turner, 1979; West & Shaw, 1975). The double
bond index (summation of the weight percentage of each FA
in a mixture multiplied by the number of double bonds it
contains per molecule divided by 100) has been shown to
increase as marrow is sampled from proximal to distal leg
bones. Furthermore, the increase in the double bond index
correlates most closely with 18:1 n-9 (Meng et al, 1969;