Author Topic: Maldigestion  (Read 9258 times)

Offline Nicola

• Shaman
    • View Profile
Maldigestion
« on: February 19, 2009, 05:30:27 am »
After 2 messages on "Reactions to foods since going rawpalaeo" I thought of posting this:

http://tinyurl.com/adbkrr

http://tinyurl.com/ckvew7

http://tinyurl.com/ap8kkp

Nicola

Offline Nicola

• Shaman
    • View Profile
Re: Maldigestion
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2009, 08:53:24 pm »

http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/question_of_strength_33

HCl: You Are What You Assimilate!

Q: Besides zinc and magnesium, what other deficiencies do those of us seeking muscle and performance need to worry about?

A: The most common one, which actually causes zinc and magnesium deficiency, is hydrochloric acid (HCl) deficiency.

Back when I was an undergrad many moons ago, they used to tell us that you lose about 1% stomach acid per year after the age of 40. Well, that's not true anymore because our high stress levels these days decrease HCl. We did a study at our Chicago facility where we gave 160 clients an HCl test. Only two people passed it with a medium score; 158 had a horrendous score.

If there's insufficient hydrochloric acid, proteins will pass into the intestine and putrefy instead of being digested. Carbohydrates will also be left to ferment without adequate digestive enzymes from the pancreas. Fat digestion is also dependent on the acid's influence on the pancreas to secrete lipase and the gall bladder to secrete bile. Poor digestion of these macronutrients means poor absorption of our basic energy sources.